2016 Collection

Refining my box

After creating my design, it fell quite flat. the background was flat and so was the corn and so was the wheat. it all felt a bit lifeless. So, I decided to experiment with textures and decided on a mottled effect which made the background seemed vintage- an aestheti that suggested that tthe product has been trusted for a long time and should be bought.

 

I also added some leaf like pattern on the corn – the type you usually see on corn leaves, long and somewhat wavy.

 

It looked better. but something was still missing. although, I wanted it to be simple; I also wanted to make it seem luxurious without making it luxurious for the sake of luxury which got me thinking- what feature looks nice and feels functional at the same time? Windows. Windows on any packaging lets you see on the inside and makes the packaging feel a litttle luxurious.

My first plan was to give a small window on the side, just underneath the flavor tab, but, it didn’t have the smooth transition and it was too close to the bottom of the box which can cause the window to be flimsy and break.

I was a bit lost on where to put it until I experimented with clipping masks and shapes I could make in illustrator when I got the idea to replace the brown wheat leaves into windows. it created a smooth transition and worked with it as a whole.

cereal pack

Leave a Reply

